Evening Prayer December 14

Praise be…Come, let us worship Christ, -who redeemed us with his blood.

On the morning of Friday, December 14, 2012, Adam Lanza entered the Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut and fatally shot 20 young children and 6 adults before shooting himself.  It was one of the worst acts of gun violence in our nation’s history.  Today we remember the victims of this tragedy and all victims of gun violence.

Psalm 142:  1, 3; 5-8

Antiphon:  I cry to you Lord.  You are my refuge.

I cry aloud to the Lord;
I lift up my voice to the Lord for mercy.
When my spirit grows faint within me,
it is you who watch over my way.
 I cry to you, Lord;
I say, “You are my refuge,
my portion in the land of the living.”

Listen to my cry,
for I am in desperate need;
Set me free from my prison,
that I may praise your name.
Then the righteous will gather about me
because of your goodness to me.

Prayer:  Lord, we pray for healing for all victims of gun violence.  We pray for peace and comfort for the families, loved ones, friends and neighbors of those killed by guns.

Psalm 25:  1, 4-6, 20-21

Antiphon:  Lord, show me your ways, teach me your paths.

 In you, Lord my God,
I put my trust.

Show me your ways, Lord,
teach me your paths.

 Guide me in your truth and teach me,
for you are God my Savior,
and my hope is in you all day long.
 Remember, Lord, your great mercy and love,
for they are from of old.

 Guard my life and rescue me;
do not let me be put to shame,
for I take refuge in you.
May integrity and uprightness protect me,
because my hope, Lord, is in you.

Prayer:  Lord, we pray that our Church be a vessel of peace and healing in the midst of gun violence wherever it occurs. We remember especially those communities out of the glare of the national media and so for whom our nation does not mourn. We pray for the moral courage for our elected legislators to do everything in their power to end gun violence. Amen.

Reading: Ephesians 2: 17-18

He came and preached peace to you who were far away and peace to those who were near. For through him we both have access to the Father by one Spirit.

Reading:  Matthew 5: 1-9

Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down, his disciples came to him.   And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons and daughters of God.”

ResponseAs we listen to the bells toll, let us remember in silent prayer the victims from Sandy Hook.

Children

Charlotte Bacon, 6

Daniel Barden, 7

Olivia Engel, 6

Josephine Gay, 7

Ana Marquez-Greene, 6

Dylan Hockley, 6

Madeleine Hsu, 6

Catherine Hubbard, 6

Chase Kowalski, 7

Jesse Lewis, 6

James Mattioli, 6

Grace McDonnell, 7

Emilie Parker, 6

Jack Pinto, 6

Noah Pozner, 6

Caroline Previdi, 6

Jessica Rekos, 6

Aveille Richman, 6

Benjamin Wheeler, 6

Allison Wyatt, 6

Adults

Dawn Hochsprung, 47  Rachel Davino, 29

Anne Marie Murphy, 52

Lauren Rousseau, 30

Mary Sherlach, 56

Victoria Soto, 27

Nancy Lanza, 52 (mother of gunman)

Adam Lanza, 20

Let us also remember in silent prayer the approximately 120,000 people who have died from guns in the United States since December 14, 2012.

Canticle of Mary (in unison)

Antiphon:  He has regarded the lowliness of His handmaid.

“My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, because He has regarded the lowliness of His handmaid; for behold henceforth all generations will call me blessed because He Who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is His Name;  and His Mercy is from generation to generation to those who fear Him.

He has shown might with His Arm, He has scattered the proud in the conceit of their heart. He has put down the mighty from their thrones and has exalted the lowly. He has filled the hungry with good things, and the rich He has sent away empty. He has given help to Israel, His servant, mindful of His mercy – even as He Spoke to our fathers, to Abraham and to His posterity forever.”

Intercessions:

Christ, we will never know your ways completely while we live on this earth.  However, with hope and confidence in your love and your ways we pray:

Your sorrowing mother stood by you at your death and burial;-comfort all parents who have lost their children to gun violence.

Your friends and disciples mourned your death, –let all who have lost friends, family members and loved ones to gun violence know your presence and peace.

You lived a life in communion with your Father in heaven which led you to action to correct injustice,–inspire us to know when to be silent but also when it is time to speak out for those injured or killed by violence in our world.

Our Father

Prayer:  Christ, our Creator, we acknowledge that violence is always wrong.  Help us to recognize how we as individuals are complicit with the violence in our society.  In the name of Jesus who preached peace to all and challenged his disciples to be peacemakers, we pledge to support efforts to curb all violence in our society.

Blessing:  Interiorly enlightened and inflamed by the fire of the Holy Spirit, may be able to follow in the footprints of our Lord Jesus Christ.

