Here is a Vatican translation of the address Pope Francis gave today at a meeting at St. Patrick’s Church in Washington, D.C., with poor and homeless of the city. The address was translated simultaneously and the Holy Father largely followed the text. In brackets, there is a ZENIT tranlsation of the few remarks the Pope added.

* * *

Dear Friends,

[It’s a pleasure to be here. Good morning. You are going to hear two statements, one in Spanish and one in English.]

The first word I wish to say to you is “Thank you”. Thank you for welcoming me and for your efforts to make this meeting possible.

Here I think of a person whom I love [a lot], someone who is, and has been, very important throughout my life. He has been a support and an inspiration. He is the one I go to whenever I am “in a fix”. You make me think of Saint Joseph. Your faces remind me of his.

Joseph had to face some difficult situations in his life. One of them was the time when Mary was about to give birth, to have Jesus. The Bible tells us that, “while they were [in Bethlehem], the time came for her to deliver her child. And she gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in bands of cloth, and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn” (Lk 2:6-7).

(more)

