Acting Franciscan

FAN at Fast4Families

This year, Franciscan Earth Corps Program Director Rhett Engelking, OFS won’t be going home to Wisconsin for Thanksgiving. Here he explains why:

The Gospel tells us that when the Son of Man comes in glory to judge all nations, he will know the righteous by this criteria:

“For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger and you invited me in.” Mt. 25:8

They were not baptized Christians at the time, yet when the Pawtuxet of the Wampanoag tribal confederation of American Indians invited a group of exiled strangers to their autumn harvest banquet they clearly met the criteria set forth by the Son of Man. The spirit of these accommodations, which occurred almost four hundred years ago in Plymouth, MA is precisely what we celebrate every year when we set aside time in…

View original post 964 more words